Darin Anthony

Darin Anthony, who specializes in the development of new plays and emotionally resonate performances, is a resident director for both Furious Theatre Company as well as for American Academy of Dramatic Arts. Additional directing credits include work with The Abingdon Theatre, Shakespeare Santa Cruz, Furious Theater, Syzygy Theatre Group, The Theatre @ Boston Court, South Coast Repertory, Pasadena Playhouse, The Odyssey Theater, The Bootleg, Antaeus Theatre Company, Moving Arts, The Blank Theater, The Elephant Theater and The Road Theater.

Recent productions include The New York premiere’s of Michael Bonnabel’s The Good Boy at the Abingdon and EM Lewis’ The Incident Report at The Lion Theatre. World premieres include Jami Brandli‘s S.O.E. for Bootleg Theatre, Beatrice Basso’s adaptation of Goldoni’s The Antiquarian’s Family for Shakespeare Santa Cruz, Mary Lou Newmark’s Street Angel Diaries at The Theatre @ Boston Court, Richard Hirsch’s Before We Go Home for Radar LA & La Jolla Playhouse as well as his The Closeness of the Horizon and London’s Scars at the Odyssey Theatre, Ann Noble’s Sidhe for The Road Theatre, Jeff Goode’s Seven Santas at The Open Fist Theatre, EM Lewis’ Leonard’s Voice for Moving Arts’ Car Plays and HEADS for The Blank Theatre, Jeremy Gable’s American Way for the Blank Theatre. West Coast and Los Angeles premiere’s include Gina Gionfreddo’s US Drag for Furious Theatre, Rachel Axler’s Smudge for Syzygy Theatre, Hilly Hicks’ A Hole in the Dark and Amy and David Sedarias’ The Book of Liz for The Blank Theatre, Ann Nobles’ The Boarding House for InterACT Theatre, and Itamar Moses’ Bach at Leipzig for the Odyssey. Other notable productions include Lanford Wilson’s Burn This (staring Josh Stamburg) and Richard Greenberg’s The Violet Hour (staring Travis Schuldt & John Billingsly) at the Elephant Theatre and Tape (staring Jonathan McClain) at the Lounge Theatre among many others.

Darin’s film directing debut, the baseball feature Hitting the Cycle, was awarded Best Feature Film by The Manhattan Film Festival.  He also directed and developed the web series Before We Go To Sleep with screenwriter Steve Serpas.

His productions have received many awards and nominations including The Ovation Award, The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, The LA Weekly Awards, Stage Scene LA and The Backstage Garland Awards. He is a proud member of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society.